Honours & AWARDS

Cadet Medal of Bravery

The Cadet Award of Bravery may be awarded to a cadet who performs an outstanding deed of valor involving risk of life in attempting to save the life or property of others.

Lord Strathcona Medal

The Lord Strathcona Trust Fund Medal, most commonly referred to as the Lord Strathcona Medal is the highest award, which can be bestowed upon a cadet in recognition of exemplary performance in physical and military training.
Lord Strathcona’s objectives in establishing his endowment were to encourage the improvement of the physical and intellectual capabilities of cadets and foster patriotism in cadets through the acquisition of a good knowledge of military matters.

The medal is awarded to the most deserving cadet and not exclusively to the most senior. The cadet recipient of this medal must have met all requirements of the mandatory and optional training programs. The recipient must also have complete knowledge of the activities of the cadet movement, have a high level of physical fitness and be regarded by peers and supervisors as a model cadet.

If you meet the criteria below, reach out to the officers to be considered for nomination:

  • display a high level of physical fitness;
  • have completed three years as a cadet;
  • have completed all requirements of the squadron training program in the year of nomination; and
  • be regarded by peers and supervisors as exemplifying the model cadet.

Cadet Legion Medal of Excellence

The main objective in awarding the RCL Cadet Medal of Excellence is to emphasize the citizenship aspects of the cadet program. To be eligible for consideration, a cadet must meet the following conditions:

  • met all requirements of the corps/sqn annual mandatory and optional training programs;
  • participated in a minimum of three community service events, in addition to those supported by the cadet corps/sqn;
  • regarded by peers and superiors as exemplifying the model cadet; and enhanced the cadet corps/sqn through:
    1. cooperation with peers and subordinates,
    2. comradeship,
    3. promoting goodwill and morale within the corps/sqn,
    4. aiding in the development of group identity and cohesiveness,
    5. supporting and assisting fellow unit members, and
    6. his/her involvement in the local community.

Air Force Association Medal

This medal is awarded to each cadet successfully completing the powered-flight and glider-flying courses at the top of their respective classes. Should a cadet win a second medal, as a consequence of having earned the medal on a previous flying course, the second medal to be awarded will be one with the Maple Leaf clasp.

Army, Navy, and Air Force Veterans Cadet Medal of Merit

The Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada (ANAVETS), as a legacy to its desire to promote excellence and awareness of the CCO , has established the Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada Cadet Medal of Merit. One medal will be awarded to the top cadet, male or female for each course at each CSTC even if the cadet has already received the ANAVETS Cadet Medal of Merit for another course.

Order of St. George Cadet Medal of Merit

The Order of St. George will award a medal to honor Staff Cadets who distinguish themselves in their exemplary contribution at a CTC during the summer training period.

Criteria and selection process are being developed and will be distributed to the Regional Cadet Support Units and Cadet Training Centre once approved.

Air Cadet Service Medal

To qualify for this award, a serving cadet must have successfully completed four years of honorable service with no serious infractions, and be recommended by the Cadet Squadron Commanding Officer. Furthermore, eligible service is portable between air cadet squadrons.

Top Cadet of Each Proficiency Level

The top cadet of each level must have:

  • Displayed an exceptional level of performance with their tasks and level requirements,
  • Passed their level of proficiencies within the training year,
  • Regarded by peers and supervisors as exemplifying a model cadet within their level,
  • Have shown themselves to strive to be the best to accomplish their goals.

Michael S. Grant Aviation Award

The recipient of the Micheal S. Grant Aviation Award must have:

  • Displayed a clear and visible interest in aviation,
  • Shown their desire and commitment to the teaching, learning, or pursuing opportunities in the subject of aviation,
  • Not already received this award,
  • Have applied for the Glider Pilot Scholarship, Power Pilot Scholarship, or Advanced Aviation Course for this summer, or completed any of these courses in the past, and
  • Have participated in all squadron aviation events including:
    1. Familiarization flying,
    2. Aviation lessons, and
    3. Squadron CAF familiarization regarding aviation.
Scroll to Top